Never too grown up

I’m the mother of two super cool young men, Steven (24) and Christian(17). Gone are the days of kissing boo-boos or cuddling on my lap, but it never ceases to amaze me how much I long to be “mommy” again. Don’t get me wrong. My nose and butt wiping days are OVER! I don’t ever want to do that again. However, when they aren’t feeling well, mom is who is there to make it better. That is one part of my new mom role that I cherish. Whenever you need me, I’m right here.

20140505-115444.jpg

Christian is in the ER today with a swollen knee. He’s a b-boy and spends most of his time performing death defying moves on various part of his body.

20140505-115529.jpg

20140505-120155.jpg
He was performing at school Friday and ever since he’s been sidelined. He never made a big deal out of it, just kept his leg up with ice on it all weekend. Last night before bed, he walked over to me and said, “Mom, feel my knee.” As soon as I touched it, I yelled, “you have water on your knee!” It was all spongy & huge. There was definitely a doctor visit in his future.

20140505-120327.jpg

I called the the pediatrician and they said to take him to the ER, he’ll need an x-ray. With two boys, I’ve seen the inside of many an ER. Broken bones, huge white meat cuts, fevers, tummy aches and the like, they both have needed me by their side to help them get back to health. There are many joys of parenting, but one of the best is being needed. The older they get, the less they need me. I’ve become less of a parent and more of an advisor. I truly treasure that role because at this age, they do what they want. You can only hope you raised them well in the ways that they should go and hope to God they never stray too far from it.

20140505-120452.jpg

As I sit here and watch him sleep after being poked and prodded, I think back to when he was my little “Pootie” and loved being hugged and kissed. He has grown up so fast, but he’ll never be too grown up for mom’s love.

20140505-120437.jpg

2 thoughts on “Never too grown up

  1. Like you wrote, we’re mother for all our lives! Even at 36 and 31 years old, my two sons know that they can count on me anytime: that’s my job 😉

Leave a Reply

