Organization Rules

I just got my latest copy of Threads magazine (July 2014) in the mail. I enjoy reading the wonderful and very helpful tips in there every month, but never before have I tried to stop EVERYTHING and create something from the mag!

I’m not sure why I didn’t think of this, but Eyrlene Kammerer is a genius. Her article, “Ruler Keeper” (page 28) was just what the doctor ordered to keep my many rulers off of the floor and off thumbtacks. The project is simple yet uber functional. As a sewist, we are charged with having a bajillion rulers of all shapes and sizes. What they don’t tell us is where to keep them safe without drilling more holes into our walls.

Ruler Keeper

The key is to measure your rulers and put them on a base that’s wide enough to hold them all. The best functional detail is the strap that holds the L square nice and neat.

secure your L square
Great way to secure your L Square
2014-04-26 23.31.22
Measure your rulers

2014-04-26 23.31.31

Make sure you pick up the mag and follow the very easy steps to create your ruler keeper. My one suggestion is that you add a very heavy interfacing to the base. The quilting cotton is just way to flimsy. I should have taken the interfacing from the top where the grommets are and covered the entire thing.

4 thoughts on “Organization Rules

Leave a Reply

