Shrimp and Spicy Garlic Sauce

Aroma 10 cup Rice Cooker I have been coveting a larger rice cooker and a bamboo steamer for some time. Since I sold my old iPhone to Gazelle, they sent me an Amazon gift card in return. That was right on time, so I used it to purchase the Aroma 10 cup (uncooked) 20 cup (cooked) digital rice cooker and food steamer. The best of both worlds in one appliance.

You know when you have a jones for something particular, well, shrimp with garlic sauce was on my mind since the weekend. We ordered takeout Saturday night and I ordered Shrimp with Garlic sauce from the local Chinese restaurant, New Kin,  and it was DELECTABLE. Sadly, they only use white rice but, I usually keep brown rice in the fridge. I’d only ordered a pint and it wasn’t enough for a full second serving the next day.  That’s when I  began to scour my cookbooks and the Internet in search for the perfect recipe. The flavors were fresh in my mind, the chilli peppers, the slightly sweet tinge, the sesame oil, the perfectly steamed broccoli; I knew just what I was looking for. When I found the Appetite for China web site that listed the simple but potentially similar recipe, I knew I had to try it. shrimp-garlicsauce2

I took a few liberties with it as with all things I cook. Here is my take on AFC’s recipe.

  • 1 pound of shrimp. Uncooked, devein and tails off. (I used medium)
  • 3 tablespoons tamari (or soy sauce)
  • 2 tablespoons chili sauce (Mae Ploy is sweet but regular is perfect)
  • 1 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon Chinese rice wine
  • 2-3 Stevia packets
  • 2 tablespoons EVOO
  • 3 heaping tablespoons of minced garlic
  • cracked black pepper
  • 2-3 scallions, sliced thin on the bias
  • toasted sesame seeds
  • 2 dried chilies
  1. Prepare shrimp and set aside.
  2. Mix soy sauce, chili sauce, sesame oil, rice wine and stevia and set aside
  3. Heat wok on medium and EVOO, saute the garlic for 30 seconds or more. Add shrimp and saute for 4 minutes.
  4. Turn heat down to low, add dried chilies and sauce and mix to coat all the shrimp. Grind freshly cracked black pepper on top.
  5. Serve over brown rice and steamed broccoli. Top with 1-2 tablespoons of scallions and toasted sesame seeds.

For the broccoli, I used 2 heads, washed and cut. Followed the directions on the steamer by setting to 8 minutes, adding 3 cups of water, adding the broccoli and let it go. It was perfectly, did I SAY PERFECTLY steamed! I can eat this everyday for the rest of my life!!!

I cooked 2 cups of uncooked brown rice in my older, smaller rice cooker. I wasn’t making a large quantity so it was perfect for just this meal

Leave a Reply

