DIY Shea Butter Hair and Body Souffle

Since beginning on that natural hair journey, I’ve read more on this topic than I’ve read for studying for the LSATs (sike). Well, pretty close to that much reading. I’ve been all over the Internets (yes, with an S); YouTube, Blogs, Amazon, Facebook, locker room chats, all of it. There is a lot of information about natural hair, but the common thread I found is, it depends.

It depends on your hair type, your hair needs, your hair length, your hair care regimen, your time, your skill, your patience, your diet, your fitness regimen, how you care for your natural hair all depends on YOU!

Now that we have that out of the way, I stumbled upon shea butter mix recipes several times on my journey. Since many naturalistas are also part-time chemists, making their own hair products seems like the norm. Well, I decided to give it a whirl.

For my first batch, I order a pound of shea butter from Amazon and raided my oil collection, then purchased some essential oils. Then I got to mixing. My first batch was half a tub and it was very stiff. I didn’t have enough supporting oils in it. I took the dud batch to the gym locker for after shower moisturizing. It’s too stiff for my hair as it leaves a thick haze in it. I took the other half of that batch and added some more oil. I was moving in the right direction. My huzzband even started using it and he liked how it felt on his shaved head and dry skin.

For the second batch, I purchased a pound from a Muslim stand near Broad and Girard Avenue and this time I made sure I added an ample amount of oil. This batch turned out PERFECT!

Here is my recipe for my second attempt at it:
20140210-144447.jpg

  • 1 pound of shea butter
  • 1/4 cup of olive oil
  • 2-4 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 2-4 tsp avocado oil
  • 1-2 tbsp jojoba oil
  • 2 tsp Vitamin E oil
  • Any essential oil 20+ drops

Mix with a hand blender until butter softens and blends. Add more oils to soften and mix until it’s light an airy. Add essential oils until you’ve reached your desired scent.
20140210-144749.jpg

This will yield twice as much butter than you started with.

I keep some everywhere:

  • bathroom
  • car
  • purse
  • gym bag
  • nightstand
  • desk

It can be used in your hair, body, lips, hands, feet, elbows.. EVERYWHERE! This batch is like a fluffy heavenly balm. You can even by some really cute containers, make some awesome labels and gift some to your fellow curlfriend. She’ll love you for it.

Leave a Reply

