Cornrows in an updo bun

I’ve always admired women in braids and cornrows. I’ve had them done before, over 8-9 years ago, but they were painful and took my hair out in a nice little patch in the front. I swore never again. I went natural this year and my TWA was in need of something else. I’ve tried coils, wash & go’s and even rocked a fro with a headband. I wanted something else.

After asking around for recommendations from friends, I settled on a shop here in Philly called Mumy Awa at 5th & chew. I spoke to a lady named Fama and she put my mind at ease. I decided to give her a try. I settled on the updo, said a prayer and went in. She called her sister in to do my hair since she was busy. Bad sign!!! I should have ran out the door. Alas, I stayed. Sister wasn’t my cup of tea. She came is late, didn’t blow dry my hair and didn’t even introduce herself. I showed her a picture of how I wanted my hair styled and she was off & running. She talked either on the phone or to her girl friend in Senegalese the whole time I was there. I kept telling her she was to leave the “baby hair” out and not to braid it so tight. Needless to say, I now have an $80 facelift. I was so distraught. I texted my husband and sent him a photo. He liked it and said he hoped the pain was tolerable, for the sake of my sanity. He knows me oh so well.

20131016-212333.jpg
Hotter than fish grease right here

The cornrows got tighter as the day wore on. Steam, hot towels, showers, pain medication, sprays, oils, leave-in. I did it all, all day, everyday. I’m on day 4 and it still hurts a bit. I look amazing, but it wasn’t worth it. I’m what they call “tender-headed” and should probably never have tried to get my hair braided.

The moral of the story: beauty is pain.

20131016-211718.jpg

You guys can keep this cornrow stuff, I’m good.

2 thoughts on “Cornrows in an updo bun

Leave a Reply

