A review of my new sewing machine

I’ve decided to pick up sewing again. My mom taught me how to sew when I was around 10 years old and I’ve gotten away from it, until now. I purchased a wonderful litter starter sewing machine; Brother cs6000i from Amazon and I’m in love! It was suggested as a great starter machine on Mimi G’s Style Blog.

New sewing machine

I’m learning so much, even by the horrific mistakes I’ve made. Sewing is very relaxing and with all the high stress, high adrenaline hobbies I have, this is one that even my husband loves.

I’m writing a little review on my new machine. The questions are courtesy of Sew Mama Sew,  a terrific sewing, craft, & baking blog. I hope this information helps someone else choose their first machine. Happy Sewing!

What brand and model do you have?

Brother  c6000i

How long have you had it?

2 weeks

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

$139.99

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Handbags, Clothing, small crafts

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

New hobby after 30 years away from a machine. 6 out of 14 days

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I like it. I haven’t fallen in love yet. I think that is because I’m still trying out all of the feet, settings, etc.  I haven’t thought of a name, but I will now that you mentioned it.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

Lightweight & easy to move, self-threading, easy bobbin loading, speed control,

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

Light isn’t very bright. The Cover. It’s really nothing more than a cover. I was thinking it was a real case that you could carry the machine around it. Like my mother’s old Singer that she has to this day.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Great price, comes with several presser feet that you’ll need for most any project, good manual, ease of use.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Features, price, warranty, your personal use case,

Do you have a dream machine?

No, not yet. I’m so new to this, I’d have to know more about sewing before I decided to upgrade. However I do see a serger in my future.

Leave a Reply

